Domestic Judgments

The fee for docketing a judgment obtained in a Virginia court is $10.00. Judgments that do not meet the requirements of Code of Virginia § 8.01-446 cannot be docketed and will be returned to the presenting party.

Payment Types Accepted

Foreign Judgments

Foreign judgments filed in accordance with the Uniform Enforcement of Foreign Judgments Act or the Uniform Foreign Country Money-Judgments Recognition Act are docketed for a fee of $25.00.

Payment Types Accepted 

Judgment Releases

By law, it is the duty of the judgment creditor (or his agent or attorney) to ensure that judgments are released upon satisfaction. There is no fee to release a judgment.

Creditors may access forms for releasing a judgment on the web site of the Supreme Court of Virginia

Recording Hours

8 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday.

Note: Documents presented after normal recording hours will be recorded the next business day.

For additional information, please call the Clerk's Office at (804) 748-1241 and ask to speak to a staff member in the Record Room.