Crater Planning District Commission


Composed of representatives of the Counties of Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Greensville, Prince George, Surry and Sussex and the Cities of Colonial heights, Emporia, Petersburg and Hopewell, the Crater Planning District Commission promotes regional cooperation, coordinates activities and policies of member localities, provides planning assistance to localities and resolves service delivery problems involving one or more member locality.


  • Executive Committee meets monthly
  • Full Commission meets quarterly
  • Crater Planning District Commission Office
    1964 Wakefield Street
    Petersburg, VA 23803


  • Number of Members: Three members of the Board of Supervisors, one at-large citizen and one alternate
  • Comments: A maximum of three Board members may serve on the CPDC. One Board member serves on the Executive Commission and also serves on Crater Metropolitan Transportation Planning Organization.
  • Compensation: $3,000 per year
  • Term of Service: Four-year term


  • Kevin Carroll, Board of Supervisors
    Term expires December 31, 2023
  • Jim Ingle, Board of Supervisors
    Term expires December 31, 2023
  • Mark S. Miller, Board of Supervisors
    Term expires December 31, 2023
  • Jacob Newton, At-large citizen appointee
    Term expires December 31, 2023