Committee on the Future


The Committee on the Future (COTF) advises the Board of Supervisors on possible changes in governmental structure, revisions to fiscal and land use planning and other matters relating to the future provision of services to county citizens. COTF is a permanent body authorized by the 1987 Chesterfield County Charter (PDF) and comprised of 10 county residents, two from each of the five magisterial districts, who serve at the pleasure of the Board of Supervisors and are supported by Community Engagement and Resources staff. 

The purpose of the committee, as described in its bylaws (PDF) is to forecast  and make recommendations concerning comprehensive, long-range conditions in the county; provide information designed to guide elected officials toward a realistic long-range plan for Chesterfield County; and expand thinking beyond present-day limitations, presenting a view not necessarily bound by what will be, but embracing what can be.

To accomplish the committee’s purpose, the committee researches issues and prepares recommendations on topics that will likely impact the county’s quality of life twenty, thirty or more years ahead.


  • Meets the second and fourth Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m.
  • Meetings are currently being held in-person; anyone interested in participating or providing public comment may request meeting access information by emailing the Committee on the Future.


  • Number of Members: 10
  • Comments: No Board of Supervisors members may serve on the committee
  • Compensation: $50 per meeting
  • Term of Service: Pleasure of the Board of Supervisors


  • Tyler Craddock, Bermuda District, appointed January 2020
  • Frederick Newbrough, Bermuda District, appointed September 2022
  • Jesse Baez, Clover Hill District, appointed February 2021
  • Shion Fenty, Clover Hill District, appointed February 2022
  • Cheryl Jackson-Darden, Dale District, appointed July 2022
  • Karen Bell, Dale District, appointed March 2023
  • Joseph Diman, Matoaca District, appointed September 2020
  • Travis Rickman, Matoaca District, appointed November 2022
  • Ames Hart, Midlothian District, appointed January 2023
  • Vacant, Midlothian District